What new skills did you learn as a comms pro in 2013?

As December rolls into place on my iPhone calendar, I started to reflect on my year at work.

I’ve worked in various roles in internal and external communications, PR and journalism since 2000, but never before has my skillset needed to widen, deepen and adapt moreso than in the last 12 months.

Here’s just a few of the skills I’ve needed this year to do my job, represented in a word cloud. Many are new skills, some build on existing skills I had previously….

(wordcloud created using www.tagul.com)

(wordcloud created using http://www.tagul.com)

I think it’s a great showcase of what’s so exciting about the role of a communications professional. The increase in digital skills is a key theme and while writing is still a core strength for the role, so much more is required in today’s workplace. I can’t wait to see how our industry continues to evolve in 2014…..

What do you think? What skills did you learn in 2013?

This entry was posted in Corporate communications, Employee communications, Employee engagement, External communications, Gamification, Internal communication, Social Media, Stakeholder management and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What new skills did you learn as a comms pro in 2013?

  1. The Chairman says:

    No surprise to see sharepoint in there. I think Waterloo Road are still getting their heads around that one!

Leave a Reply

